South Hams Chess Club
South Hams Chess Club

The M. Wray Shield 2014-15

This year we are reviving the M. Wray Shield. Back in the days when the club was much larger, it was a competition for players who were knocked out in the first round of the Cookworthy Cup. This year it will be a competition for the players entered into the Preliminary Competition of the Cookworthy Cup. So this year the entrants will be Ken Ashby, Barry Sweetman, Tony Collins, Anderson McCommant and Derek Drake. It will be an all-play-all format, with one game against each opponent, and a toss for colours for each game.


Here is the final leaderboard for the M. Wray Shield. Click on a column heading to sort the table according to that column; click again to reverse the sort order.

NameGradeECFPWDLAve OpPerf%Pts
Ashby, Ken83181837F2200072100.02.0
McCammont, Anderson296727D1100050100.01.0
Collins, Tony78173334F1100050100.01.0
Drake, Derek299675D40046100.00.0
NameGradePWDLAve OpPerf%Pts
Ashby, Ken832200072100.02.0
McCammont, Anderson1100050100.01.0
Collins, Tony781100050100.01.0
Drake, Derek40046100.00.0

Congratulations to Ken Ashby - winner of the M. Wray Shield for 2014-15.

Pre-Arranged Games

Any M. Wray Shield games which have been pre-arranged but not yet played are set out below. If you are logged in as a member you can record on this website a game that you have pre-aranged by clicking here.

Individual Game Results

The individual game results in the M. Wray Shield for the current season are set out below. To limit the display to games involving a particular player, start typing that player's name in the "Filter" box.

Date White Result Black PGN?
20 Nov 2014Ashby, Ken (83)1-0Drake, Derek ()Submit
27 Nov 2014Collins, Tony (78)1-0Drake, Derek ()Submit
08 Jan 2015McCammont, Anderson ()1-0Drake, Derek ()View
05 Feb 2015Drake, Derek ()0-1Ashby, Ken (83)Submit