South Hams Chess Club
South Hams Chess Club

Cookworthy Cup 2017-18

Please visit the 2017-18 overview of internal competitions for an explanation of the Cookworthy Cup.

The draw for the 2017-18 competition took place on 21st September 2017, as follows:

Preliminary Event 1

Richard Thomas Chris Willcox Chris Willcox (by default)
Chris Willcox
Zak Zaffiro Zak Zaffiro


Preliminary Event 2

Dennis Russell Dennis Russell
John Belli


Main Rounds

First RoundQuarter-finalsSemi-finalsFinalWinner
Chris Willcox Chris Willcox      
Dennis Russell
Clifford Peach Ken Ashby
Ken Ashby
Phil McConnell Phil McConnell  
Tony Collins
Ben Wilkinson Ben Wilkinson
Oliver Zaffiro
Barry Sweetman David Archer    
David Archer
James Schofield  
Noah Farrand
Roy Greenhalgh James Fowler  
James Fowler
Steve Levy Steve Levy
Alan Davies

The following deadlines apply for the completion of each round:

25th January 2018All Preliminary and 1st Round Games Completed
15th February 2018All 2nd Round Games Completed
22nd March 2018Both Semi Finals Completed
26th April 2018Both Games in the Final Completed

Games can be played sooner. For example, if you and your 2nd round opponent can play your 2nd Round game before the deadline, then go ahead - the dates above are the latest dates by which they MUST be played.

Pre-Arranged Games

Any Cookworthy Cup games which have been pre-arranged but not yet played are set out below. If you are logged in as a member you can record on this website a game that you have pre-aranged by clicking here.

Ref Day Date Player 1 Player 2 Club Fixture that Day
1501Thursday01 Feb 2018Willcox, ChrisAshby, KenDiv1: Newton Abbot v South Hams
1544Thursday08 Feb 2018Fowler, JamesLevy, Steve
1545Tuesday13 Feb 2018McConnell, PhilWilkinson, Ben


Individual Game Results

The individual game results in the Cookworthy Cup for the current season are set out below. To limit the display to games involving a particular player, start typing that player's name in the "Filter" box.

Date White Result Black PGN?
28 Sep 2017Thomas, Richard ()0-1Willcox, Chris (111)View
28 Sep 2017Levy, Steve (179)1-0Davies, Alan (92)View
21 Oct 2017Peach, Cliff (106)0-1Ashby, Ken (97)View
21 Nov 2017McConnell, Phil (128)1-0Collins, Tony (77)View
23 Nov 2017Sweetman, Barry (76)0-1Archer, David (154)View
30 Nov 2017Greenhalgh, Roy (113)0-1Fowler, James (86)Submit
21 Dec 2017Russell, Dennis (118)1-0Belli, John (76)View
11 Jan 2018Willcox, Chris (111)1-0Russell, Dennis (118)Submit
18 Jan 2018Wilkinson, Ben (138)1-0Zaffiro, Oliver (63)Submit