South Hams Chess Club
South Hams Chess Club

South Hams win the Division 2 Title for 2016-17

On 11th April, South Hams won our Division 2 fixture away at Teignmouth with a scoreline of 2½ - 1½, thus completing "the double" over Teignmouth. Click here for details and a match report. This result means that South Hams win the Division 2 title for the 2016-17 season - the first time that the club has won this Division.

Here is the final Division 2 table:

South Hams430111½6
Newton Abbot41123

While the points total may look as if we won the Division by a convincing margin, in reality it was, like the Battle of Waterloo, "a near run thing", with Teignmouth in with a chance of a match win (and hence the title) until near the end of the evening.

Click here for full details of the South Hams Division 2 match results and player stats this season. Many congratulations to Steve Levy, Phil McConnell, Ben Wilkinson, Cliff Peach, Chris Willcox, David Archer and John Belli, who all played in the Division 2 team this season.