South Hams Chess Club
South Hams Chess Club

South Hams win the RapidPlay Title for 2016-17

On 15th May, Plymouth beat Newton Abbot 5 - 3 in the final Torbay League RapidPlay match of the 2016-17 season. This result meant that all three teams in the RapidPlay competition finished on 4 points out of 8. So the placings were decided on game points where, out of a maximum of 32, South Hams scored 16½, Newton Abbot scored 16, and Plymouth scored 15½. The only way it could have been closer would have been with a three-way tie - which arguably would have been the fairest outcome - but as it stands the title goes to South Hams who therefore retain the trophy that they won in the 2015-16 season.

Here is the final RapidPlay table:

South Hams420216½15½  4
Newton Abbot42021616  4
Plymouth420215½16½  4

Click here for full details of the South Hams RapidPlay match results and player stats this season. Many congratulations to the nine members who played for the RapidPlay team this season: Steve Levy, Chris Willcox, David Archer, Cliff Peach, Ben Wilkinson, Tony Collins, Phil McConnell, Roy Greenhalgh and Oliver Zaffiro.

Just three years ago, silverware was a dim and distant memory for the South Hams Club. After winning one title in 2015 and two in 2016, in 2017 South Hams has won four of the six Torbay League competitions. Remarkable progress.