South Hams Chess Club
South Hams Chess Club

South Hams with the Division 4 Title for 2016-17

On 6th April, The Plymouth Division 4 team drew 2 - 2 at Newton Abbot. This result means that South Hams win the Division 4 title for the 2016-17 season.

Here is the final Division 4 table:

South Hams641115½9
Newton Abbot622212½11½6

Four South Hams players were at Newton Abbot for the Rapidplay match, and so were able to watch the drama of the 2 - 2 draw against Plymouth. After three games had finished, Plymouth were 2 - 1 up, meaning that a win for Plymouth in the final game would win them the title, beating South Hams on "goal difference". A draw in the final game would result in the title being shared between Plymouth and South Hams, whereas a win for Newton Abbot would result in the title going to South Hams. In a tense end game with chances for both players, and with members from all three clubs clustered round the board, Newton Abbot prevailed, resulting in the match draw which South Hams were hoping for. Well played Newton Abbot, and commiserations to Plymouth who made the title race a very close contest, especially after their 3 - 1 victory over South Hams.

Click here for full details of the South Hams Division 4 match results and player stats this season. Many congratulations to John Belli (captain), Roy Greenhalgh, Alan Davies, Chris Willcox, Zak Zaffiro, Oliver Zaffiro, Ken Ashby and James Fowler, who all played in the Division 4 team this season, and all contributed points.

Cliff Peach has asked to be "mentioned in despatches" for his contribution as a "5th columnist", secretly disrupting the Plymouth team behind enemy lines. This request will no doubt be noted with interest at Plymouth Chess Club!